

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

MINUTES

Monday 13 February 2023 7.30pm AEDT | Various locations

168 people attended either in person or via zoom.

- 1. Welcome and introduction by Andrew Thorburn
- 2. Song Same God, led by David Martel
- 3. **Opening prayer** by Louis Glazebrook
- 4. *Senior Pastor report* Verbal report presented by Guy Mason, summarising teaching, mercy, faith testimonies and baptisms, evangelism and new ministry that happened in 2022. Guy also shared some exciting things happening in 2023, including teaching, the City on a Hill Conference and plans to plant our tenth church.
- 5. *Chairman report* Verbal report presented by Andrew Thorburn, giving thanks for all who serve in areas of governance and leadership at City on a Hill.
- 6. FY22 Financial Report presented by Peter Hill.
- 7. FY23 Budget presented by Ian Scarborough

8. Governance appointments

- a. *Governance overview* Ian Scarborough provided a brief overview of governance at City on a Hill.
- b. Movement council New appointments and nominations introduced by Ian Scarborough
- c. Movement committees New appointments and nominations introduced by Ian Scaarborough
- Local church council appointments Simon Angus shared an overview of the purpose and role of local church councils, and then each of the Lead Pastors introduced their local councils (Melbourne, Melbourne East, Melbourne West, Brisbane and Geelong).



e. Anglican officers (wardens, AAC council & incumbency committee) – These members are serving in other governance roles, but also will hold this office.

9. **Q&A**

A question came from City on a Hill Brisbane about the role of local council, and the difference between that and the biblical model of elders/deacons. Andrew Thorburn and Simon Angus provided a summary of the purpose and role of the local councils.

10. Formal motions

The FY2022 Financial Report was noted and accepted.

The FY2023 Budget was noted and accepted.

Those nominated into the role of warden and incumbency committee were approved.

Richard Jackson and Rachel Savaranamuthu were approved as lay representatives on the Movement Council.

Those appointed by the Movement Council to the local council and sub-committees were noted.

11. Thanks to those finishing terms

Guy Mason gave thanks to:

- Fiona Pearse (chairing the Risk committee + serving on the Board)
- Shirley Reeder (chairing the People & Culture committee + serving on the Board)
- Simon Angus (various governance and leadership roles over the last 10 years)
- Andrew Thorburn (chairing the Board)
- 12. Closing prayer Alexandra Salisbury and Luke Nelson closed the meeting in prayer.

 $Meeting \, was \, concluded \, at \, 9.25 pm.$

Appendices

Appendix 1 – Attendance list



Appendix 1 – Attendance List

BRISBANE

Andrew Bailey Dan Glen Dirk Tromp Grant McMurray Heather Bailey Joseph Slough Kaisha Turner Kylie Facey Lea Gibbs Lindon Pyle Lisa Lloyd Melissa Brown Michael Ghobrial Nathan Smith Noah Smith Peter Hill Peter Salisbury **Rachel Sloper** Richard Watson Rosaria Ting Sarah Brightwell Sarah Pyle Simon Ting Tuula Tsai Viktoria Vibhakar Waz Gibbs Zechariah Sargent

GEELONG

Alan Blick Andrew Grills April Chiu Brianna Elliott Chris Cleminson David May Gwendolyn Cleminson Harry Wilson James Cox Joshua Sgro Ken Smith Kevin Matthewson Lvn Calic Matthew Keller Megan Macaluso Philip Wilson Rebecca Dumesny **Richard** Pearson Robert Bester Rowena de Kretser Silvan Baard Tyler Elliot

GOLD COAST

Jimmy Shepherd Pieter van Baren Rachel Snelling Sam Low

MELBOURNE

Abigail Gunarso Alice Arnott Andrew Mitchell Andrew Thorburn Brian Monroe Casey Aguero Claire Yeoh Curtis Reeder Elizabeth Connelly Fiona Pearse Gavyn Anderson Georgina Harvey Greg Cooper Guy Mason Hayley Bell Ian Ng Ian Scarborough Javi De La Rosa Kathleen Low Kenneth Webb Kevin Kelliher Mark Pearse Mark Yeun Neville Aunann Paul Connelly Pras Rasiah Rachel Saravanamuthu **Richard Jackson** Romina Barata Ryan Hansen



MELBOURNE WEST

Alyce Supek Andrew Godfrey Dimithra Bahardeen Ella Borinaga Evanna Nelson Jeff Hase Khoi Phuong Lizzie Chew Luke Nelson Mark Petrusma Martin Kennedy Naomi Petrusma Nathan Chew

SURF COAST

Adam Ridgewell Barb van Andel Brett Graham Erika McDuling Henry van Andel Jemima Knox Jim Nunn Joash Belousoff Johann McDuling Kirby Lancaster Lisa Thomason Louis Glazebrook Maree Nunn Rae-Ellen Graham

WOLLONGONG

Cody Shirtliff David Cunynghame Elizabeth Oakman Gail Maidment-Warhola Joel Deacon Rachel Shirtliff Ray Warhola Ryan Hodges

ONLINE

Ben Hewitt Brenton Javatilaka Carmen Milic Daniel Hernandez Daniel Hoevenaars David Supek Ian Smith James Kirsop Joanna Holman Kat Hernandez Kelson Holt Lina Phuong Matthew Yong Michelle Deroon Marcus Ryan Phil Burns Sam Sperling Suja Hewitt

Sally Wong Sam Chieng Sergio Barata Sharon Cheung Stella Loong Stephanie Judd Thean-Peng Tan Wes Chia

MELBOURNE EAST

Danielle Carr Dean Little Dorothy Phua Elliott Minter George Talliopoulos Joel Creek Karin Smith Kwee Phua Lyn Ryman Lynette Poon Melody Loke Natalie Minter Nick Coombs Patrick Donohoe Paul Jansen Rosalie Marshall Sammie Fung Simon Angus Stephanie Hill Sunga Little Tuan Pham